Bobcat Badge

Bobcat is the joining rank for Cub Scouts. New Cub Scouts earn Bobcat before any other rank, no matter what age they are when they join. Find helps for the Bobcat program on this page.

To earn the Bobcat rank the new Cub Scout must do the following:

  1. Learn and say the Cub Scout Promise and complete the Honesty Character Connection.
    • Know: Discuss these questions with your family. What is a promise? What does it mean to “keep your word?” What does honesty mean? What does it mean to “do your best?”
    • Commit: Discuss these questions with your family. Why is a promise important? Why is it important for people to trust you when you give your word? When might it be difficult to keep your word? List examples.
    • Practice: Discuss with family members why it is important to be trustworthy and honest and how can you do your best to be honest when you are doing the activities in Cub Scouting.
  2. Say the Law of the Pack. Tell what it means.
  3. Tell what Webelos means
  4. Show the Cub Scout Sign. Tell what it means.
  5. Show the Cub Scout Handshake. Tell what it means.
  6. Say the Cub Scout Motto.
  7. Give the Cub Scout Salute. Tell what it means.
  8. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the booklet, How to Protect Your Children from Child Abuse.

BSA Safety
Welcome New Den Leaders
Bobcat Requirements Check Off Sheet

Click on one of the links below for helps and ideas for specific Bobcat requirements:

Copyright © 2012 A2ZWare