Venturing Ranger Award Requirements - Scuba

Venturing Ranger Award Elective – Scuba

To earn the Venturing Ranger award, a young man or woman must complete eight core requirements and four electives. One of the electives to meet the Ranger award requirements is Scuba

To complete the Venturing Ranger Award requirements for Scuba, a Venturer must learn all about scuba diving and then assist in teaching others about scuba diving through the Discover Scuba program.

Venturing Ranger Award Requirements – Scuba

  1. Become certified as an Open Water Diver by the Professional Association of Diving Instructors (PADI) or the National Association of Underwater Instructors (NAUI). If PADI or NAUI instruction and certification are not available, certification may be accepted from other agencies that comply with the Recreational Scuba Training Council (RSTC) guidelines, provided that such acceptance has been expressly approved by your local BSA council in consultation with the BSA national Health and Safety Service.
  2. Make a presentation to your crew, another crew, or a Cub or Boy Scout group on what it takes to become certified and some other subject related to scuba diving.
  3. Assist with a Discover Scuba program. (Note: An Open Water Diver may assist with logistics under the guidance of the instructor conducting the program, but is not qualified to and is not expected to perform as a professional-level assistant such as a divemaster or assistant instructor.)
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: