National Outdoor Badges

National Outdoor Badges – Camping

Last August, BSA released its new Outdoor awards. These awards recognize Boy Scouts and Varsity Scouts who really get into outdoor activities. The five badges are for camping, hiking, aquatics, riding, and adventure. There is a center badge which is earned when the first badge is earned also. There are also gold and silver devices which can be attached to the badges for additional achievements.

Today I am promoting the camping award. If you have some enthusiastic campers in your troop, they might have completed the requirements already.

You can learn more about this program at the BSA website.

National Outdoor Badges – Camping

  1. Earn the First Class rank.
  2. Earn the Camping merit badge.
  3. Earn two of the following three merit badges: Cooking, First Aid, Pioneering.
  4. Complete 25 days and nights of camping—including six consecutive days (five nights) of resident camping, approved and under the auspices and standards of the Boy Scouts of America—including nights camped as part of requirements 1 through 3 above.

A gold device may be earned for each additional 25 nights of camping. A silver device is earned for each additional 100 nights of camping. The Scout may wear any combination of devices totaling his current number of nights camping.

More Information
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2012 A2ZWare