Eagle Scout is the highest advancement rank in Boy Scouting. Eagle is earned after the rank of Life. "Once an Eagle, always an Eagle".

Parent Interviews at Eagle Board of Review?

Marci sent me this question:

Hi, my son is up for an eagle BOR very soon, and I was wondering what type of questions they ask parents. I was informed the scout steps out of meeting while the reviewers ask parents questions. Thank you.

Thanks for the question Marci. I have never heard of parents being interviewed at an Eagle Board of Review. Or at any Board of Review for that matter.  In fact, normally the opposite is true. The parents shouldn’t be involved in the BOR at all.  I think if this is really happening it must be a local custom. So I can’t answer your question about what topics might be discussed with parents.

Readers, have you ever heard of parents being questioned as part of the regular Board of Review process? Add your comments below.

13 Responses to Parent Interviews at Eagle Board of Review?

  1. Jerry Schleining November 9, 2015 at 9:35 AM #

    Typically the parents of the Eagle Candidate are brought into the board and the young man is excused. The board does not interview or testbthe parents, they usually discuss how the scouting experience has been for the family and how they have seen their son transform because of Scouting. They may ask about out of scouting activities too, but mostly it is an opportunity to tell the parents about the wonderful young man that just completed his Eagle award.

  2. Adrienne K November 9, 2015 at 10:13 AM #

    As in Jerry’s circumstance, the parents in our area talk to the board without the Scout present. Ours call in the parents first. The parents tell the BOR about their son, about his goals, his strengths, and so forth. Our SM was just talking about this at our Committee meeting last week as we have some upcoming Eagle BORs. He said, for example, one time the mom said the Scout had one career goal, the Scout gave a different answer. The BOR asked him about that and learned even more about the Scout. In our case, it’s a chance for the parents to present their son to the BOR.

    In our Council and District, the Scoutmasters sit on the BORs as quiet observers, to ensure that the BOR is conducted properly and fairly. They also provide a familiar and friendly face behind the table for the Eagle Candidates. Perhaps Marci can ask her son’s Scoutmaster or other parents in her unit what they ask in her area.

  3. Kathy November 9, 2015 at 3:21 PM #

    It is our practice not to allow parents to be any part of the
    Board of review.

  4. Paul November 9, 2015 at 4:57 PM #

    I have never heard of asking the parents questions. I have done over 10 Eagle BOR and this was never brought up.

  5. Mary November 15, 2015 at 9:47 AM #

    Surprised to read that parents would be involved in ANY Board of Review, especially an Eagle one. Nowhere in BSA policies does it say to include parents. Perhaps the Troops that do this are troops were parents are TOO involved and the BSA mantra of” boy led” patrols, troops, activities are not really followed.
    Honestly, it is sad to hear that parents are part of B of Arsenal and that BSA policies are not enforced or followed by dome Troops. I wonder if these Parents in these Troops also ” helped” their Scout a little too much with completion of Eagle project!?

  6. Buddy Lindsey November 18, 2015 at 6:50 PM #

    I did BOR for a few years as well. Never called in the parents either. Though it is an interesting idea.

    Seems like from comments it is more uncommon than common.

  7. Mike Walton (settummanque) December 3, 2015 at 11:08 AM #

    The short answer is NO.

    From the BSA’s Guide to Advancement:

    “8.0.0.3 Composition of the Board of Review

    A board of review must consist of no fewer than three members and no more than six, all of whom must be at least 21 years of age. For further specifications, see “Particulars for Tenderfoot Through Life Ranks (or Palms),” 8.0.2.0, and “Particulars for the Eagle Scout Rank,” 8.0.3.0. Unit leaders and assistants shall not serve on aboard of review for a Scout in their own unit. Parents or guardians shall not serve on a board for their son. The candidate or his parent(s) or guardian(s) shall have no part in selecting any board of review members. ”

    The last two sentences should solve this *smiling*

  8. Victoria Davidson May 2, 2016 at 8:26 PM #

    Our BoR are held at the district level and our eagle board chair interviews the parent before the board meets with the scout. I have always been on the board side of the table but next week will be my oldest son’s BoR and if I feel the parent questions are inappropriate such as ‘Does the scout keep his room clean?’ Yes I have heard it asked. My answer will be that my child’s practices in the privacy of our home are not subject to the board’s consideration in review of his eagle application

  9. Paul May 9, 2016 at 5:26 PM #

    I for one have NEVER talked with the parents before or after a BOR. I don’t need to know his personal life outside of scouts. I’ve only talked to the parents at the COH.

  10. Maria October 10, 2016 at 10:49 PM #

    Our District interviews the Parents, the SM and finally the Scout — all individually. The parents and SM serve more as a “tell us about your scout and his journey” — truly no bearing on the Board other than to get a sense of the Scout.

  11. KCS November 22, 2016 at 5:29 PM #

    My son is having his Eagle Board of Review tonight, and yes, we as the parents, were requested to attend. We are not part of any of the BOR selection or anything of the sort, but we understand from other parents before us that we are interviewed as a “tell us about your experience with your son’s journey in scouting”. They also interview the Scoutmaster. Figured this is how they all go!

  12. JoAnne February 10, 2017 at 12:50 PM #

    Our son had his BOR last night. Agree totally with Maria. We (the parents) were interviewed first, then our SM, then our son….all individually. Our interview was ‘tell us about your scout and what impact we perceived scouting has had on him over the years.’ Our SM indicated his interview was about the scouts journey from his perspective and also specifics about our Troop. (we have a superbly diverse Troop!) Then the private interview with our scout. My perception is that the interview had no bearing on the Board…

  13. Jimmy Smith October 26, 2017 at 3:12 PM #

    My son had his BOR last night. A little confusing because his troop hadn’t had an eagle in a few years and the troop leaders weren’t up to speed. He had to rush to get a lot of stuff done at the last second. And there was confusion over whether he needed recommendation letters or contact references. Anyway there was no parent interview.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: