cub scout arrow points

Bear Electives and Arrow Points

Shelly sent in this question:

I’m trying to understand how to add up the electives so my son can get arrow points. Do you have to complete an entire elective to count as one point or does each part of an elective count?

There are 25 electives. Does that mean we can only max out at 25 points? Or could my son do, for example, elective 1b, 2c, 6e, etc and those each count as one elective point?

Arrow points can be confusing.  Each part of an elective counts toward arrow points.  So yes, 1b, 2c, 6e would each count for one. So he can do any 10 elective activities to earn his first arrow point.  He can mix and match from any electives, so he could chose one activity from one elective, four from another, and five from a third.

Wolves must earn the Wolf badge before being presented with any arrow points. Similarly Bears must earn the Bear badge first.  They may work on the activities in the Arrow Point Trail before earning the badges, but the arrow points are not received until after the badges are completed.

In addition, Bears can use the requirements from any achievements they did not do as part of the Bear badge.  However, unused parts of achievements which were used to earn the Bear badge cannot be used toward arrow points.  Clear as mud – right?

Wolves do not have the option to use requirements from achievements toward arrow points since all of their achievements were required for the Wolf badge.

6 Responses to Bear Electives and Arrow Points

  1. Anne January 22, 2014 at 7:37 PM #

    Hi Scoutermom,

    I want to correct one thing about arrow points. According to the BSA 2013 Guide to Advancement, Bear scouts can now use the unfinished parts of the achievements they used for the Bear trail.

    From the BSA 2013 Guide to Advancement
    “Unused Bear badge achievements, or parts of achievements
    that were used for the Bear badge, may be counted toward
    Arrow Points. For example, in Bear Achievement 9, “What’s
    Cooking,” four of seven parts listed are required for the
    achievement. The other three may be used as electives
    toward Arrow Points. Since 12 achievements will have been
    used to earn the Bear badge, electives may also be chosen
    from any of the remaining 12. For the Wolf badge, only
    electives may be used to earn Arrow Points. Once a boy
    moves to the next Cub Scouting rank level, he may not earn
    Arrow Points from the earlier rank.”

    • Scouter Mom January 23, 2014 at 7:16 AM #

      Looks like they changed it again! This will also all go away after changes to the Cub Scout program to simplify Cub Scout advancement. Thanks.

      • Melanie February 5, 2016 at 7:29 PM #

        So, with the new 2015 requirements, are there no longer arrow points? I have a wolf and we are using the new requirements. I see other boys with Arrow points, but our pack wasn’t using them the past 2 years, so no one seems to understand.

        The new program has 15 electives. We have completed 4 electives and 3 achievements. I am just trying to make sense of it all. Thanks in advance for any incite you may have.

        • Cathy February 14, 2016 at 6:03 PM #

          Correct. The new program no longer uses arrow points. 🙁

  2. Melissa caton July 5, 2016 at 6:11 PM #

    Where do I find a list of bear elective requirements?

  3. Laurie Beitler July 27, 2016 at 9:35 AM #

    Look on Click advancement alphabetically on left, see Cub advancement, then find Bear. The website is a non-profit run by Scouters, US Scouting Service Project.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: